Reality Shows

Is it me, or are more crazy reality shows popping up? Don’t get me wrong, I love some good reality TV from Life Below Zero to 19 Kids and Counting. But The Real Housewives of LA, or NY— I just don’t get it. Please help me out here!
Tell me it’s because we have more time on our hands to watch such stupid shows. Or, is it becoming the norm, and the old-fashioned television format is slowly starting to dissolve? In its current form, television is changing to become more and more negative, and it’s losing the excitement to watch.
I remember shows like “Survivor,” that at least had some element of a game to it and gave a bit of a thrill, while at the same time giving us a glimpse of what total craziness in our world is out there.
Over the years reality shows have transformed and gone from fun and laughter to the absolute lowest common denominator — follow around a bunch of spoiled, dumb, rich girls and watch how they waste their lives; or, follow a low-income family that lives in a trailer park and spends all their hard-earned money on pageants and other silly, stupid activities.
What really gets to me is watching families be proud of this idiocy, lust for power, and stop at nothing to get it. They seem only to be guided by greed, jealously, money, power and mistrust; whatever it takes to raise the ratings and controversy, and most of all, money. These shows will continue to grow nastier and filthier with producers and directors having no considerations of people’s feelings.
Considering all these facts, can we step any lower into the real world with no return to actual reality?

 

Our question is now, “How did we get here and this low? Who is responsible for all of the reality garbage? “We the viewers, because we allow and watch it, or is it the networks? I honestly have no good answer for you at this time.

I, myself, can’t seem to stop watching some of these shows. But as mentioned earlier, I carefully evaluate and only watch the programs that I personally think have something to teach me or make me feel happy. Then again, that makes me part of the problem, and I can accept that judgment.
A few shows I watched in the past are no longer on my favorite list because they lost the sparkle of interest and got old. It became a routine of “I know how it will start, continue and eventually end. Period!” The shows I ended for myself are Dog the Bounty Hunter, Survivor and Amazing Race. Sure there are few more, but not worth mentioning. At this point, I stick with Life Below Zero, The Last Frontier, Dual Survivor, The Little Couple , My Sister Wives and 19 Kids and Counting! By the way, I do occasionally watch Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.
I look at myself and ask “Why do I like these shows?” Each one has a special interest for me– either the controversy of living with several women; the difficulties of being little; how to survive; why would you live in an extreme cold environment and how big families manage to raise successful children on a budget.
But does my opinion really matter? I am just as guilty of raising the ratings, and as long as producers come up with new and crazy reality shows, we will all keep watching and making it part of our daily entertainment.

Leave a Reply

